Day 58: Entrepreneurship Convention

Sao Paulo Park

Well, I’m starting to feel better but the cold is still doing it’s dirty to try and hold me down. Despite this, I put on my best face this morning while Theo and I trekked across São Paulo to an Entrepreneurship Convention. To me, one of the geekiest things I can do. The reality – it sucked.

Upon arriving, I must say that the scale of the whole even kind of took Theo and I for a startle. The convention center was massive! I mean, really big. It housed all kinds of crazy things, like a place, cars, trucks, robotics, drones, fashion design-stuff… and then we started to kind of wonder what the heck was going on. After some 45 minutes of wandering around the convention floor, we stopped and asked ourselves, where are all the entrepreneurs? Turns out there were none! This was a convention for teenage kids, in school who were interested in design and tech. Semi-cool but just not what we came for.

Robotics Arena

Upon leaving the building though, we noticed this secret passage way off to the side labeled “entrepreneurship convention”. Turns out we went to the wrong event. Oh and the entre part looked great! People were giving speeches, there was a hackathon, co-working space, massive presentation area etc etc. But once we tried to enter any of the areas, we were promptly stopped for one reason or another. Seriously, we couldn’t get into a SINGLE thing there! Largest free entrepreneurship festival my butt.

So as many things I find in Brazil, this whole convention was way too big for it’s own good (or for any reason at all), way too hard to find (side door/passageway??) and ultimately exclusive to the good ‘ol boys club. Disappointing at best.

Anyway, that’s my story of the day and would you know it, of the weekend! I start the StartupFarm program on Sunday, which I”m holding in much more optimistic light than this fiasco today. I also started to learn how to program tonight, which I’m sure will assume much of the rest of my free time. Don’t worry though, I’ll still be on here to bother ya’ll! Have a good one and see you Sunday night.

-Connor

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One response to “Day 58: Entrepreneurship Convention

Leave a comment