Design in Anxiousness

DesignAfter stopping the pursuit of HiveTech, I came to a realization about myself. Once I feel like “my work is done here”, I start to become very anxious. I have this impending drive to get out and well, drive! I have experienced this before, especially when I was moving between Minneapolis, Sioux Falls and then São Paulo. I thought that by being in a large city, that confinement would disappear but rather the opposite. Being in this massive concrete jungle makes that confinement even more prominent.

To deal with this kind of anxiety, I generally resort to 2 practices. First, I run. How wonderful working out really is for the mind. I never feel bad for those who don’t work out for physical health reasons but because working out brings me my most enduring mental health. That is a timeless gift. The second is to get work done. In the past, this involved homework. Now that I’m out of that realm, it involves working on the next start-up. I suppose I should say start-ups. In this way, I use the anxiety as a tool to design my work and move it forward.

I currently have 7 start-up ideas I’m pursuing in differing levels from, ‘a little market research’ to ‘e-mailing and calling contacts/building a team’. On top of this, it’s almost November, which means NaNoWriMo! I’m excited to write my first, complete novel and I have a strong idea of the plot already. I just need to idea-map it out so I know how the flow moves on a story-board.

Well, that’s all for this evening. It’s getting close to Halloween in the US now. I’m missing the holiday festivities but being in a warm, tropical location makes it seem somewhat okay. See you all tomorrow!

Connor

One response to “Design in Anxiousness

Leave a comment